Department Of Botany

Department Of Botany

Department Of Botany

Department Of Botany was established in the year 1986-1987. Built up area of the department in sq. 166.83 Sq. feet

Programmes offered

ProgrammeLevel of studyCut-off marks at entry level in %Student strength
B.Sc. Major U.G. Passed HS with at least 40% marks in the subject Biology. 30
B. Sc General in Computer Science U.G. Passed HS with at least 30% marks in the subject Biology 90

List the teaching staff:

Name of the Teaching staffDesignationQualificationSpecialisation
Dr. Ranu Roy. Associate Professor Ph. D, B.Ed Plant Physiology
Dr. Dinesh Chandra Deka. Associate Professor Ph. D, M.Phil Cyto-genetics and Plant Breeding
Dr. Neelanjana Barua. Associate Professor & HoD Ph. D Cyto-genetics and Plant Breeding
Mr. Bhaskar Jyoti Sharma Assistant Professor (Contractual) M. Sc Microbiology

List the major thrust areas within the subject in which research activities are being pursued:
  • Cytotoxic Effects of Insecticides Plant extracts on Economic Plants.
  • Chemical analysis of Wild Vegetable Plants.
  • Characterization of Wild Seed Plant of N.E.

  • Well-equipped Lab.
  • One Botanical Garden.
  • One Nursery.
  • One Herbal Garden having various medical plants.
  • One Orchidarium.

Besides different examinations, such as annual examination, unit test, pre-test conducted by the college authority, the Department has been monitoring the students by the following:
  • Entrance test for admission into the Major course.
  • Unit test of the chapters taught from time to time.
  • Departmental seminars on the topic selected from the course taught and Field work and class work in the garden

Birjhora Mahavidyalaya
Bongaigaon Rd, Borpara, Mayapuri,
Bongaigaon, Assam-783380
Phone: + 91 (03664) 228808