Department Of Chemistry

Department Of Chemistry

Department Of Chemistry

Department Of Chemistry was established in the year 1986-1987. Built up area of the department in sq. 351.83 Sq. feet

Programmes offered

ProgrammeLevel of studyCut-off marks at entry level in %Student strength
B.Sc. Major U.G. Passed H.S exam with at least 40% marks in the subject 30
B. Sc General in Computer Science U.G. Passed with at least 30% in the subject at HS. 130

List the teaching staff:

Name of the Teaching staffDesignationQualificationSpecialisation
Mr. Mohan Karki. Associate Professor M. Sc. Organic Chemistry
Dr. Munindra Nath Thakuria. Associate Professor Ph. D Physical Chemistry
Dr. Paresh Chakravarty. Associate Professor & HoD Ph. D Organic Chemistry
Sri Pranab Kumar Das Associate Professor M. Sc Inorganic

Laboratory staff: Mr. Subash Ch. Roy; Sri Durjyodhan Barman (Contractual)
  • Two Well-equipped Organic and Inorganic Laboratory.
  • One physical laboratory.

Besides the normal academic activities, Department of Chemistry has been conducting state level Chemistry Olympiad annually since 2002 and students of secondary and higher secondary level of Bongaigaon district are motivated to participate in this competition. As a result, a good number of students participate in this state level competition. Performance of the students of Birjhora Mahavidyalaya center is outstanding.
  • Three faculty members, Dr. M.N. Thakuria, Dr. P. Chakravarty and Mr. P. K. Das have completed Minor Research Project sponsored by U.G.C.

Birjhora Mahavidyalaya
Bongaigaon Rd, Borpara, Mayapuri,
Bongaigaon, Assam-783380
Phone: + 91 (03664) 228808