Brief History of Birjhora

Brief History of Birjhora

Brief History of Birjhora

Birjhora Mahavidyalaya, from its humble beginning in the Bongaigaon Normal School Campus to its present enviable stature of imposing infrastructure and outstanding output, the College has come a long way telling the story of achievements, growth and consolidation. B-level accreditation by the NAAC in its second cycle in 2015 with CGPA 2.72, excellent service in reaching quality education to the door steps of the less privileged section of the society, pioneering student-friendly professional courses, ever increasing relevance in empowering the poor sections of the society, – all these have combined to keep Birjhora Mahavidyalaya imposingly in focus. The College has been provincialised w.e.f December 2005.

Birjhora Mahavidyalaya was established as a Degree Science College to fulfill the long felt need of the people of western Assam with regard to access to higher education in Science faculty to develop scientific spirit among the mass to motivate the unemployed youth by introducing application oriented courses of excellence. The College came into existence on 9th June-1986 starting first official classes of B.Sc. T.D.C Course recognised by UGC in the Normal School Campus on 1st September-1986. This auspicious day, 1st September of every year is observed as the foundation day of the College.



51 member – Executive Committee of the Governing Body formed with Sri. P.B. Choudhury, MLA as the President and Sri. T.K. Choudhury as the Secretary.



The Executive committee at its first Meeting proposed the name of the college as ‘Birjhora Mahavidyalaya’.



Dr. D.P. Barua, VC of Gauhati University laid down the foundation stone of Birjhora Mahavidyalaya.



B.Sc Classes were started at the Bongaigaon Normal School Campus and decided to observe this day as the foundation day of the college.



Inauguration of permanent campus of Birjhora Mahavidyalaya by the then Chief Minister of Assam Sri. P.K. Mahanta.


First Sponsoring Body [Nirman Committee-1986]

President:Phani Bhushan Choudhury
Vice President:Lankeswar Ray
Rajani Kanta Barman
Satyendra Nath Brahmochoudhury
Rajkumar Maheswari
Ratneswar Deka
Secretary:Tarun Kumar Choudhury
Joint secretary:Prabhat Baishnab
Pabitra Kumar Mazumdar
Arun Pal Choudhury
Treasurer:Om Prakash Dargar
Members:B.C Pathak, M.C. Choudhury, O.P. Maheswari, Mrigen Das, M.A. Rahim,
Manik Sarma, Khanindra Das, Satin Ray, A.K. Devsarma, H. Goswami,
Kamaleswar Barman, Nakul Sarkar, Prabin Barkakati, Ashok Dev,
Hemanta Ray, Jagannath Roy, Ramprasad ray, Sanat Kr. Nath, K.C. Ray
Karmakar, S.C. Dey, Mukul Barua, Nihar Sarkar, R.C. Sarma, J.C. Das,
Cheniram Koch, A.B. Das, Rammohan Das, Bidyabati Pathak, J.M.
bhagavati, Niren Das, Damodar Singha, B.C. Ray, PranabGuha, Basanta
Choudhury, R. Pathak, B.N. Das, SagarmalGoel, B.K. Gogoi&A.K. Sarma

Birjhora Mahavidyalaya
Bongaigaon Rd, Borpara, Mayapuri,
Bongaigaon, Assam-783380
Phone: + 91 (03664) 228808